Shelby County Courthouse

612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm*
*see individual departments for specific hours
p: 712-755-3831
f: 712-755-3200

NOTICE - The Shelby County Courthouse is open to the public. The Treasurer’s Office (property tax, driver’s license & motor vehicle) services are by appointment only, contact the Treasurer’s Office to set up a time.

A Brief History

In 1851 the General Assembly of Iowa fixed the boundaries of Shelby County. The new county was named after General Isaac Shelby, who was famous for serving in the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, and becoming the first governor of the State of Kentucky. Early settling in Shelby County began in 1848 in Galland’s Grove. For more information about Shelby County and Its Courthouses, click here.