Supervisors Overview

The Board of Supervisors meets in required session on the second secular day of January, as required by law. The Board meets in scheduled session at 9:00 AM on the first and third Tuesdays of each month in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse to consider all matters brought before them by committees and for the transaction of such business as is necessary.

The Board approves claims against the County on the third Tuesday of each month. All claims must be filed with the County Auditor prior to the Wednesday before the third Tuesday of each month to permit their auditing before presentation to the Board for approval. All claims must be accompanied by an itemized billing.

The Board of Supervisors is always looking for citizens who are interested in serving on various Boards and Commissions. If you are interested, contact Mark Maxwell, Shelby County Auditor, at mmaxwell@shco.org and he will submit your name to the Board for consideration.

The County Auditor is the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors. To be placed on the Board's weekly agenda, contact Mark Maxwell, Shelby County Auditor, at 712-755-3831, FAX 712-755-3200 or email: mmaxwell@shco.org.

Shelby County Board Members:

Steve Kenkel
2040 Ironwood Rd.
Earling, IA 51530
Vice Chairman
Charles Parkhurst
501 10th St.
Harlan, IA 51537
Darin Haake
1302 Cyclone Ave
Harlan, IA 51537


Supervisor's Office staff includes:

Steve Kenkel - Chairman

Charles Parkhurst - Vice Chairman

Darin Haake- Member

Mark Maxwell - Auditor & Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

DNNStuff - Google Analytics


Contact Information

Mark Maxwell
Shelby County Auditor
612 Court Street Room 208
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Phone: 712.755.3831
Fax: 712.755.3200
Email: mmaxwell@shco.org

Supervisor's Chambers
612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Phone: 712.755.3733
Fax: 712.755.3200

Shelby County Courthouse

612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Monday - Friday
8 am - 4:30 pm