Treasurer Overview

 Carolyn Blum,

The Treasurer's Office is located on the second floor of the courthouse on the east side of the hallway. The office is comprised of three departments:

Property Tax Department: Property taxes may be paid in semi-annual installments due September and March. Full or partial payments of current and delinquent taxes will be accepted at any time. Iowa law requires delinquent property tax to accrue interest at 1 1/2% per month, per parcel. Interest applies on the first day of each month and is rounded to the nearest dollar. Payments can be paid in person, by mail or online at www.iowatreasurers.org.

Our annual tax sale is held the third Monday in June at 10:00 a.m. unless otherwise advertised. Interest is accrued at the rate of 2% per month on tax sale certificates, rounded to the nearest dollar. Redemptions are made at our office and must be made with guaranteed funds.

Motor Vehicle Department: The motor vehicle department licenses vehicles, issues titles, liens, license plates and renewal stickers for autos, trucks, truck-tractors, motorcycles and trailers. Titles, which have a $25 fee, must be transferred within 30 days of purchase to avoid a $10 penalty. License plates can be renewed the month before, the month of, and month after your birth month sticker. Penalty of 5% of license fee rounded to the nearest dollar with a $5 minimum will be added on the first of each month when delinquent. Payments can be paid in person, by mail or online at www.iowatreasurers.org.

Driver's License Department: The driver's license department issues driver's licenses and non-driver ID cards. Your Iowa driver's license expires on your birthday and is valid for another 59 days. It may be renewed 30 days before your birthday and within the following 59 days without having to take the written knowledge test. You are required to pass the vision screening test when your license is renewed. If your license has been expired for more than a year, you will have to take the driving test as well as the written knowledge test. Under special circumstances, you can apply for your license renewal up to one year before the expiration; however, you must explain to the examiner why you're applying for such an early renewal.

Discover, MasterCard, Visa and eCheck are accepted for internet transactions. In-office payment methods are cash, check, credit cards or debit cards. Please contact the Treasurer's Office for additional information regarding applicable service fees. 

Please contact our office for any questions you may have. Thank you!

Treasurer's Office staff includes:

Carolyn Blum - Treasurer

Janet Croghan - Office Assistant

Shelly Rhodes - Office Assistant/Drive Examiner

Katie Petersen - Office Assistant


Contact Information

Carolyn Blum
Shelby County Treasurer
612 Court Street Room 207
P.O. Box 110
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Phone: 712.755.5847 ext. 2
Fax: 712.755.7606
Email: cblum@shco.org

Motor Vehicle &
Driver's License Dept.

Phone: 712.755.5898 ext. 3
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Written Tests until 3:30pm
Driving Tests: By Appointment Only

Tax Department
Phone: 712.755.5847 ext. 2
Fax: 712.755.7606
Hours: 8am - 4:30pm
Monday - Friday


Shelby County Courthouse

612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537