Explore County

EMS Advisory Council

The EMS Advisory Council is appointed by the Board of Supervisors to recommend an amount to sustain EMS in Shelby County as described in Iowa Code 422D and to make a report yearly to the Board of Supervisors yearly if EMS is voted an essential service. 


Committee Members:

Tim Plumb- Chair, Shelby County ESA; Bryce Schaben- Vice Chair, Board of Supervisors; Alex Londo- Secretary, EMA; Roger Bissen, City of Harlan, Karen Schlueter, City of Shelby; Janice Gaul, City of Earling; Barry Jacobsen, Myrtue Medical Center.  

EMS Documents: 

Iowa Code 422D

5/19/2023 Article 

6/2/2023 Article

6/9/2023 Article 

9/19/2023 Article 


EMS Flyer

EMS Flyer 2 

Tax Example 


EMS Advisory Council Minutes February 2023

EMS Advisory Council Minutes March 2023

EMS Advisory Council Minutes April 2023

EMS Advisory Council Minutes June 2023

EMS Advisory Council Minutes July 2023



Contact Information

Shelby County Courthouse
612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537