The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the courthouse with the following members present: Allen W. Burchett, Chairman; LaVon A. Christensen, Vice-Chairman; Merlyn Knudsen; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Christensen, to approve the following additions to the agenda: 1) Policies No. 19 & 20; 2) Corrective Transfers; 3) Create M/H/S Empowerment Area Fund; 4) Solid Waste Agency Committee Appointment. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Christensen, to approve the following items contained in the Consent Agenda.

- A. Minutes of January 18, 2000
- B. Office Reports None
- C. Budget Review
- D. Committee Reports

## AYES: Burchett, Christensen, Knudsen NAYES: None

Larry Flanagan, Shelby County DevelopSource, appeared before the Board to discuss the possible upgrade of a portion of 1200<sup>th</sup> Street. It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Knudsen, to upgrade the road according to existing policy. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board proceeded to review the Preliminary/Final Plats for Prairie Meadow Estates Phase I and Phase II. The Zoning Administrator reported that all requirements of the Subdivision Ordinance have been met for the plats and reports that the Planning and Zoning Commission has met on these plats and recommends approve of each plat as presented. It was moved by Burchett seconded by Christensen to approve the plats as presented contingent upon having the attachments as per law included prior to recording. Motion carried unanimously.

Verle Doonan, Veterans Affairs Commissioner, and numerous other veterans appeared before the Board to discuss necessary office space for Tom McMullen, Veterans Affairs Director. After much discussion, it was decided that the office would be moved to the front portion of Room 206 on the Main Floor of the Courthouse.

It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Knudsen, to approve Policy No. 19, Postage Metering Machine, as amended, and Policy No. 20, Non-Union Employees Benefit Package. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to authorize the Auditor to transfer \$1167 from General Basic to Capital, \$2118 from General Basic to Capital, and \$4387 from Rural Basic to Capital. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Christensen, to create a new fund entitled Monona/Harrison/ Shelby Empowerment Area Funds. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to appoint Lloyd Robinson to the Solid Waste Agency Board. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Burchett, seconded by Christensen, to approve the publication of the salaries of all County employees for Calendar Year 1999. Motion carried.

AUDITOR: Marsha J. Carter, \$31187.00; Karen A. Goans, \$24949.73; Rhonda A. Brown, \$23545.47; Kathy E. Plumb, \$8927.00; MIS: Michael L. Hansen, \$36661.74; Sandra K. Ronfeldt, \$15682.00; TREASURER: Kathaleen A. Stinn, \$30236.83; Marie A. Madsen, \$22968.59; Sherry S. Heller, \$24189.75; Kathy E. Plumb, \$3943.76; Joann L. Christensen, \$24189.75; Sharon A. Oman, \$22968.59; RECORDER: Linda M. Jacobsen, \$30236.83; Linda S. Stroeher, \$24189.75; Janet M. Johannsen, \$16937.56; ATTORNEY: Jeffrey L. Larson, \$31960.76; Susan K. Christensen, \$23424.96; SHERIFF: Durwood E. Cavenaugh, \$37763.18; Mark A. Hervey, \$32698.77; John A. Kelly, \$33304.65; Kelly J. Lefeber, \$9440.00; Aaron M. Anderson, \$29820.43; Mark E. Kaufman, \$31515.20; Chad T. Butler, \$9251.20; Robin L. Ambrose, \$27097.04; Sandra R. Hansen, \$10548.79; Glenyce J. Wendelin, \$25432.79; JAIL: Mark A. Hervey, \$2812.68; Karla M. Fairchild, \$18085.20; Cynthia Murphy, \$21368.90; Harold L. Brensel, \$25122.57; Karen S. Klein, \$1295.00; Rosalie A. Ridgeway, \$19039.75; BUILDING & GROUNDS: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$26828.36; Penny J. Anderson, \$15559.36; SAFETY: Charles K. Parkhurst, \$2537.82; BOARD OF SUPERVISORS: Allen W. Burchett, \$18782.81; Merlyn Knudsen, \$19283.53; LaVon A. Christensen, \$18415.74; Marsha J. Carter, \$18782.81; Merlyn Knudsen, \$19283.53; LaVon A. Christensen, \$18415.74; Marsha J. Carter, \$18782.81; Merlyn Knudsen, \$19283.53; LaVon A. Christensen, \$18415.74; Marsha J. Carter, \$18782.81; Merlyn Knudsen, \$

\$999.96; GENERAL RELIEF: Elizabeth Crowell, \$1041.30; Thomas Walker, \$7094.36; CONSERVATION: Darby J. Sanders, \$30349.96; Robert D. Garrison, \$7034.80; Vernon D. Schnack, \$5288.25; Nicholas A. Preston, \$13,271.15; ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH: Joseph A. Stroeher, \$32287.84; Terri S. Darringer, \$21837.49; Scott J. Platt, \$16,011.35; Roland J. Wegner, \$5463.51; Robert M. Nielsen, \$7744.45; ZONING: Charles M. Trailer, \$3886.35; Rhonda A. Brown, \$732.03; VETERANS AFFAIRS: Thomas G. McMullen, \$8515.53; COMMUNITY SERVICES: Elizabeth M. Crowell, \$39476.71; Jill F. Schiltz, \$20941.17; Julie A. Kessel, \$28012.53; Carol J. Christensen, \$7848.00; Ylonda J. Maguire, \$14,330.76; ROADSIDE MANAGEMENT: Bryce D. Schaben, \$22250.08; Kay C. Hupp, \$2402.65; SECONDARY ROAD: Daniel M. Ahart, \$59776.65; Douglas L. Andersen, \$36554.11; Dennis L. Anastasi, \$26311.49; Roger C. Andersen, \$31586.86; William J. Barta, \$26834.76; Lyle H. Behrens, \$29099.77; Kenneth H. Blackwell, \$27156.65; John F. Blum, \$20132.24; Allen N. Bruck, \$29113.03; Thomas D. Ferry, \$25627.90; Gayle B. Petersen, \$13302.15; Robert H. Kimball, \$26670.42; Donald S. Gessert, \$27881.60; Ralph E. Gessert, \$28438.40; Marvin T. Goans, \$40878.14; Richard Hastert, \$21490.55; Franklin D. Sick, \$23072.82; Michael D. Kienast, \$29502.53; Gerald Kohles, \$27356.69; Richard L. Musfeldt, \$25863.18; James D. Baughman, \$26535.24; Curtis L. Sonderman, \$24516.07; David L. Sternberg, \$28068.08; Charles M. Trailer, \$41747.15; Edward F. Schmitz, \$25770.06; Michael L. Whitaker, \$38932.84; Bruce A. Waddell, \$25712.03; Harold E. Jager, Jr, 7537.05; Ann Wolken, \$23351.68; David A. Gau, \$35137.88; Bernard A. Swenson, \$26473.55; Ronald L. Brus, \$26808.46.

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

Allen W. Burchett, Chairman

ATTEST:

Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.