The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: LaVon A. Christensen, Vice-Chairman; Merlyn Knudsen; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk. Absent: Allen W. Burchett, Chairman.

It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to approve the following items contained in the Consent Agenda.

- A. Minutes of June 6, 2000
- B. Office Reports None
- C. Committee Reports

AYES: Christensen, Knudsen NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the Board to canvass of the Primary Election of June 6, 2000, the Board did canvass the returns.

The canvassed returns for United States Representative and State Representative – 81st District were certified to the Secretary of State as required by Section 50.30, Code of Iowa.

The canvassed returns for elected offices for Shelby County are certified as follows:

DEMOCRATIC PARTY

COUNTY TICKET

County Auditor
County Sheriff
Board of Supervisors

Marsha J. Carter
Gene Cavenaugh
Orv Roecker
Vernon Schwarte

TOWNSHIP TICKET

Cass Township Trustees Rich Ohlinger

No one else nominated (2 needed)

Center Township Trustee No one nominated (1 needed)

Clay Township Trustee Gerry Greve

Douglas Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Fairview Township N/A

Greeley Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Grove Township N/A

Jackson Township N/A

Jefferson Township Trustees Nick E. Hansen

No one else nominated (2 needed)

Lincoln Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Monroe Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Polk Township N/A

Shelby Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Union Township Clerk
Union Township Trustees

Jim Scheuring
James J. Kohles
Delbert Munchrath

Washington Township Clerk No one nominated (1 needed)
Washington Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Westphalia Township Trustee Roger Schmitz

REPUBLICAN PARTY

COUNTY TICKET

County Auditor
County Sheriff
No one nominated
No one nominated
Richard D. Ferry
Gayle Whitey Petersen

TOWNSHIP TICKET

Cass Township Trustee No one nominated (2 needed)

Center Township Trustee No one nominated (1 needed)

Clay Township Trustee No one nominated (1 needed)

Douglas Township Trustees Adrian Nelson

Richard Petersen

Fairview Township N/A

Greeley Township Trustees Alan Jensen

No one else nominated (2 needed)

Grove Township N/A

Jackson Township N/A

Jefferson Township Trustees Jim Clark

No one else nominated (2 needed)

Lincoln Township Trustees Raymond Errett

No one else nominated (2 needed)

Monroe Township Trustees Eugene Clayton

Kenneth Peters

Polk Township N/A

Shelby Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Union Township Clerk No one nominated (1 needed)
Union Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Washington Township Clerk No one nominated (1 needed)
Washington Township Trustees No one nominated (2 needed)

Westphalia Township Trustee No one nominated (1 needed)

Bob Seivert, EMA Coordinator, and Mike Hansen, MIS Director, appeared before the Board to discuss a Hazardous Mitigation Grant Proposal. It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to apply for a \$2500 Hazardous Mitigation Grant for a GPS Backpack Receiver with the County portion being \$4094.98. Motion carried.

It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to approve the following resolution:

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-22 STATE OF IOWA DESIGNATION OF APPLICANT'S AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE RESOLUTION FOR A HAZARD MITIGATION AND RISK ASSESSMENT GIS DATABASE GRANT PROGRAM

BE IT RESOLVED by the Shelby County Board of Supervisors that Marsha J. Carter, County Auditor, is hereby authorized to execute on behalf of the Shelby County Emergency Management Agency the Hazard Mitigation and Risk Assessment GIS Database Grant and to file the application with the Iowa Emergency Management Division (IEMD) for the purpose of obtaining Federal financial assistance.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 13th day of June, 2000.

AYES: Christensen, Knudsen NAYES: None

It was moved by Knudsen, seconded by Christensen, to authorize the Vice-Chairman to sign the contract with the Secondary Road Employee Organization to be effective July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2003. Motion carried.

OTHER BUSINESS: A discussion was held on the expansion of the 911 Center, the construction of a saliport onto the Law Enforcement Center, and the construction of a radio tower on the Landfill site. Vice-Chairman Christensen authorized the Building & Grounds Supervisor to begin the process of contacting prospective contractors to complete these projects. Funding will come from the Anticipatory Warrants approved on March 10, 2000.

There being no further business appearing, the Vice-Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.

LaVon A. Christensen, Vice-Chairman

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.