The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers in the Courthouse with the following members present: LaVon A. Christensen, Chairman; Gayle Petersen, Vice-Chairman; Richard Ferry; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

It was moved by Petersen, seconded by Ferry, to approve the agenda. AYES: Christensen, Petersen, Ferry NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the Board to canvass of the Primary Election of June 4, 2002, the Board did canvass the returns.

The canvassed returns for United States Senator, United States Representative, Governor, Secretary of State, Auditor of State, Treasurer of State, Secretary of Agriculture, Attorney General, State Senator –  $29^{\text{th}}$  District, and State Representative –  $57^{\text{th}}$  District were certified to the Secretary of State as required by Section 50.30, Code of Iowa.

The canvassed returns for elected offices for Shelby County are certified as follows:

		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
R-BOARD OF SUPERVISORS (1)	MERT BARGENQUAST	489	1805
(Must receive at least 35% of the	* ALLEN BURCHETT	758	
total votes)	ED LAPKE	553	
(1793 x 35% = 628)	ROGER SCHMITZ	3	
	RICHARD WILLIAMS	1	
	BILL BARTA	1	
R- COUNTY TREASURER	SHERRY HELLER	12	36
	LYLE WALKER	1	
	RHONDA BROWN	1	
	KATHY STINN	11	
	CINDY NORTH	1	
	SHARON JOHNSON	1	
	JAMES BIEKER	1	
	MARSHA CARTER	1	
	KATE KOHORST	1	
	GERALD LAPKE	1	
	BOB VANDER PLATS	1	
	ED LAPKE	1	
	LYLE WALKER JR	1	
	STINN	1	
	JONATHAN HANSEN	1	
COUNTY RECORDER	* LINDA JACOBSEN	1581	1594
	KAREN SOJKA	1	
	LINDA STROEHER	10	
	RHONDA BROWN	2	
R- COUNTY ATTORNEY	* JEFF LARSON	1417	1444
	MARCUS GROSS JR	3	
	TOM ANDERSEN	5	
	BOB KOHORST	1	
	KEN SOJKA	1	
	JESSE JAMES	1	
	RANDY SKINNER	1	
	PAT DEREN	2	
	SUSIE LARSON	1	
	KATE KOHORST	1	
	EUGENE FUHS	1	
	JOHN BRUCK	1	
	ROB HALL	4	
	FRED ANDERSON	1	

	SUSIE CHRISTENSEN	1	
	MARCUS GROSS	3	
		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
D- BOARD OF SUPERVISORS (1)	DANIEL T HELLER	144	559
(Must receive at least 35% of the total votes)	* ROGER SCHMITZ	415	
(556 x 35% = 195)			
D- COUNTY TREASURER	* KATHY STINN	471	472
	SHERRY HELLER	1	
D- COUNTY RECORDER	RHONDA BROWN	1	6
	CHARLENE MAHLBERG	1	· ·
	RANDY OUREN	1	
	JOHN ZIMMERMAN	1	
	LINDA JACOBSEN	2	
D- COUNTY ATTORNEY	J C SALVO	1	12
	JEFF LARSON	6	
	TOM ANDERSON	4	
	STEVE BARRATT	1	
		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
G- GOVERNOR	JAY ROBINSON	0	0

		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
CASS TOWNSHIP CLERK			
	* D-KENNETH SCHNEIDER	24	
	R-LLOYD PAULEY	1	
CASS TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)	* R-JIM VOGE	24	24
CENTER TOWNSHIP CLERK			
	R-NORMAN MATHIASEN	1	
NO ONE NOMINATED	R-SANDY LEINEN	1	
	R-CINDY NORTH	1	
	R-DAR LUND	1	
	R-KEITH BURCHETT	1	
	R-GRANT WILSON	1	
	R-JUNE SCOTT	1	
	R-VERN NELSON	1	
	R-KEN FAHN	1	
	D-CHARLES GRABILL	1	

NO ONE NOMINATED NEED 1	R-PAUL GRABILL R-CINDY NORTH R-KEN SHETLER R-NORMAN MATHIASEN R-DUVAL R-LORI HLAVICK R-KEITH BURCHETT R-JEFF LANSMAN R-GRANT WILSON R-JIM BIEKER R-LARRY PETERS R-DARVIN LUND R-DOUG SVENSEN D-DONALD OBRECHT	1 8 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	
CLAY TOWNSHIP CLERK	* R-STEVEN JACOBS	46	46
CLAY TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (2)	<ul><li>* R-DAVID LANGE</li><li>* D-REX R THOMAS</li></ul>	35 4	39
DOUGLAS TOWNSHIP CLERK	* R-MICHAEL RASMUSSEN D-DONNA BALDWIN	43	46
DOUGLAS TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)	<ul><li>D-MIKE RASSMUSSEN</li><li>* R-KEITH I FISCUS</li></ul>	2 48	51
	D-TERRY FISCUS D-MIKE RASSMUSSEN D-KEITH FISCUS	1 1 1	
		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
OFFICE FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
	CANDIDATE R-JANELLE NIELSEN D-DOROTHY CARROLL	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK	R-JANELLE NIELSEN	2	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK	R-JANELLE NIELSEN	2	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK <b>NO ONE NOMINATED</b> FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3) <b>NO ONE NOMINATED</b>	R-JANELLE NIELSEN D-DOROTHY CARROLL R-WAYNE NIELSEN R-JOHN LEE R-RONALD KROHN R-GARY HANSON D-GARY HANSON D-RONALD KROHN	2 1 2 3 2 2 1 1	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK NO ONE NOMINATED FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3) NO ONE NOMINATED NEED 3	R-JANELLE NIELSEN D-DOROTHY CARROLL R-WAYNE NIELSEN R-JOHN LEE R-RONALD KROHN R-GARY HANSON D-GARY HANSON D-RONALD KROHN	2 1 2 3 2 2 1 1	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK NO ONE NOMINATED FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3) NO ONE NOMINATED NEED 3 GREELEY TOWNSHIP CLERK	R-JANELLE NIELSEN D-DOROTHY CARROLL R-WAYNE NIELSEN R-JOHN LEE R-RONALD KROHN R-GARY HANSON D-GARY HANSON D-RONALD KROHN D-JOHN LEE R-BILL AHRENHOLTZ	2 1 2 3 2 2 1 1 1 1 1	FOR OFFICE
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP CLERK NO ONE NOMINATED FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3) NO ONE NOMINATED NEED 3 GREELEY TOWNSHIP CLERK NO ONE NOMINATED	R-JANELLE NIELSEN D-DOROTHY CARROLL R-WAYNE NIELSEN R-JOHN LEE R-RONALD KROHN R-GARY HANSON D-GARY HANSON D-GARY HANSON D-RONALD KROHN D-JOHN LEE R-BILL AHRENHOLTZ R-ROGER AHRENHOLTZ	2 1 2 3 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 7	FOR OFFICE

*	D-JOSEPH JACK STESSMAN	2
*	D-GERALD TREMEL	3
	R-ED LAPKE	1
	R-JERRY TREMEL	1
	R-RON KRAMER	1
	R-GAILORD GROSS	1

JACKSON TOWNSHIP CLERK NO ONE NOMINATED

## JACKSON TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3)

		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES
OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	FOR OFFICE
EFFERSON TOWNSHIP CLERK	* R-DONALD D FERRY	42	4
	D-JEFF KELLER	1	
JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES(1)			
	* D-GENE BORKOWSKI	12	
	R-LYNN KRUSE	1	
	D-LUKE CROGHAN	2	
LINCOLN TOWNSHIP CLERK			
	* D-GEORGE LANGENFELD	18	
	R-DELBERT BRUCK D-KENT MORGAN	1	
LINCOLN TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)	* R-MARK LYTLE	44	
	R-KIRK PETERSEN	1	
	R-RAY ERRETT	1	
	D-JAMES BURMEISTER	1	
MONROE TOWNSHIP CLERK			
	* D-BRYAN D GREVE	3	
	R-PHIL MADSON	1	
	R-BRYAN GREVE	1	
MONROE TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)			
	* R-EUGENE A TROLL	36	
POLK TOWNSHIP CLERK			
NO ONE NOMINATED	R-KARL HANSON	2	
	D-MARLIN PETERSEN	1	
POLK TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (3)			
	* R-EUGENE JUHL	33	
NEED 2 MORE	R-DALE CLEMONS R-EDWIN MONSON	2	
	R-BRANDT FERRY	1	
	R-MARLIN PETERSEN	2	
	D-MARVIN NIELSEN	1	
	D-MARLIN PETERSEN	1	
	D-JIM KELLER D-MIKE FARA	1	
		TOTAL VOTES	TOTAL VOTES

SHELBY TOWNSHIP CLERK

NO ONE NOMINATED	R-KAREN PIITTMAN	1	
SHELBY TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES (1)	* R-DAVID WAHLING	27	27
UNION TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)	* R-NEAL A GAUL	30	32
	R-JIM KOHLES	1	
	D-DALE GRAEVE	1	
WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (1)	* R-DAVID KEANE	21	26
	R-LARRY KLINE	1	
	D-JERRY KEANE	1	
	D-DAVID KEANE	2	
	D-PHIL CROGHAN	1	
WESTPHALIA TOWNSHIP CLERK			
NO ONE NOMINATED		1	
	D-JIM HODAPP	1	
WESTPHALIA TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE (2)			
	* D-HAROLD SCHWERY	68	
NEED 1 MORE	R-GENE BLUM	1	
	R-KENNETH HALL	1	
	D-ED GOETZINGER JR	1	
	D-JERRY GROSS	1	
	D-KEN HALL	1	

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:12 a.m.

ATTEST:

LaVon A. Christensen, Chairman

Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors