The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers with the following members present: Gayle Petersen, Chairman; Roger Schmitz, Vice-Chairman; Richard Ferry; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Schmitz, to approve the agenda. AYES: Petersen, Schmitz, Ferry NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the board to canvass the returns of the Shelby County Municipal Election held on November 4, 2003, the board did canvass with the following results:

			TOTAL VOTES TO	TAL VOTES
PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE	
IRWIN	MAYOR	* BRET RICHARDS ALVIN MUSFELDT GARY HANSON	30 2 9	47
		RANDY BIRKS JOHN VILLEGAS JOANN VILLEGAS	3 2 1	
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	 * LARRY HAGEDORN * DIANE PLUMB AL PLUMB 	50 48 1	99

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE	
DEFIANCE	MAYOR	* JOHN WELLS BILL THEULEN SHARON SCHMITZ ROBERT KLOEWER	53 1 2 2	58
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	 * BOB KLOEWER * JEFF THEULEN MIKE KIMMEN FRANK POWERS DONALD SCHABEN GEORGE REWERTS ED SCHMITZ DOUG SCHMITZ GARY MUHLBAUER KEITH SCHWIESO PAT KLOEWER SHARON SCHMITZ TODD THEULEN MIKE SCHMITZ MICKEY KLOEWER WES WALKER BOB GUBBELS 	32 40 16 1 2 4 1 1 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 2 1	108

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOT FOR CANDIDATE FOR	
PANAMA	MAYOR	* TERRY SCHWERY RON RATIGAN DON HOFFMAN	33 1 1	35
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	 DAVID KOHLES LARRY KEANE DENNY KOHLES MARY ASSMANN BERNARD HERMINSEN BOB HUEBERT MATT SCHMITZ GEORGE SCHWERY MARK CRALL MONA CRALL DUANE ASSMANN CHRISTINE KLOEWER COREY FREUND JAYME ARKFELD RON CHAMBERLAIN DAN WINGERT CHARLES BLUM JOHN LEUSCHEN JR JIM KEANE GLENN WINGERT 	30 5 1 3 2 1 3 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	59

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE	
EARLING	MAYOR	* ARNOLD ARNIE MARTIN RALPH WINGERT	59 45	104
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	 * GERALD BOGLER * RALPH WINGERT ARNOLD MARTIN MARCUS STESSMAN DAVE HOFFMAN TOM HENRICK DON WAGEMAN MARK KRAMER 	99 18 3 1 2 1 1 2	134
		GERALD BISSEN PAT HOFFMAN BETTY GROTE LARRY KRAMER DON BRUCK LEROY GROTE	2 1 1 1 1 1	

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOTAL VOT FOR CANDIDATE FOR OFFIC	
WESTPHALIA	MAYOR	* JEROME GROSS KEN HULL	13 1	14
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	 * NICK MAY * JEROME SCHNEIDER BRIAN ARKFELD TERRY SCHULTE 	12 13 1 1	27

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOT FOR CANDIDATE FO	
KIRKMAN	MAYOR	* RON HEESE SHARON OMAN KIM KOBOLD	13 8 1	22
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	 MICHELE ANDERSEN PHIL NIELSEN LARRY GUSTAFSON GAYLE KLOEWER RON HEESE NORBERT KLOEWER ED NEWCOMB ARLAN OMAN DENNIS BALDWIN MIKE NORRIS KATHY KIENAST KATHY PLUMB GARY BROWN STEVE BARRATT JIM BAUGHMAN BOB KIMBALL SHARON OMAN CAL PETERSEN 	17 19 4 2 2 1 1 2 1 2 1 1 2 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2	63

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOTAL VOT FOR CANDIDATE FOR OFFIC	
TREGINGT	OTTICE	GAIDIDATE	TOR GARDIDATE TOR OTTR	
PORTSMOUTH	MAYOR	* MARK SNETHEN	8	23
		GERALD WALTZ	1	
		NEIL PETSCHE	3	
		RICH LEINEN	1	
		JOHN SCHABEN	3	
		CRAIG RAU	4	
		STANLEY SLAVEN	1	
		DAVE PETSCHE	1	
		KEN SLAVEN	1	

CITY COUNCIL (5) *	CRAIG RAU	20	89
*	VICKI MILLER	16	
*	KEN SLAVEN	13	
(RESIGNED)	MARK SNETHEN	9	
*	DAVE PETSCHE	9	
*	MARVIN KOHLES	6	
	RON PROSOSKI	2	
	GARY WILKE	1	
	RAY ANASTASI	1	
	BOB CROGHAN	2	
	JOHN SCHABEN	2	
	TIM BLUM	2	
	RANDY SCHABEN	2	
	AMY SCHAFER	1	
	STANLEY SLAVEN	1	
	FRAN KLEFFMAN	1	
	RON KLEFFMAN	1	
		40	47
	YES	16	17
Change to 4-yr staggered terms	NO	1	

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOTAL	
SHELBY	MAYOR	* RON KROLL RODNEY ROBINSON	27 1	28
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	 CRAIG A DAVIS RICK KIESEL RODNEY ROBINSON TOM THROLSON MEL HURSEY BOB SIETZ DON COLLIGAN 	30 31 26 1 1 1 1	91

eff after 2005 election

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES TOTA FOR CANDIDATE FOR	
TENNANT	MAYOR	JOSEPH G HENRIKSEN * ROY WILLIAMSON	20 27	47
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	 * RALPH HEESE * JAMIE HOCKETT LARRY MCCOOL LARRY SHEELER * LORI TEACHOUT 	28 29 18 21 43	139

			TOTAL VOTES TOTA	L VOTES
PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	FOR CANDIDATE FOR	OFFICE
ELK HORN	MAYOR	* HOWARD SORENSEN ROYCE KITELINGER TIM FREDERICKSEN LAMONT CHRISTENSEN GENE MARDESEN WARREN JACOBSEN H JOHN JONES HOWARD S JIM SPORLEDER ROGER PARKER BUGS BUNNY PAUL HANSEN MIKE HOWARD MICKEY MOUSE D LINDEN JOSEPH A ROSE KELLY DONNAN	42 1 8 4 6 1 3 1 2 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2	80
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	 * TIM FREDERICKSEN TODD HANSEN * H JOHN JONES * GENE MARDESEN VERNON SCHWARTE TOM CANNON KELLY DOONAN JIM SPORLEDER 	88 21 78 74 36 1 2 1	301
	CITY COUNCIL (1) TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM ENDING 2005	* JIM MCCARTHY MIKE HOWARD JOSEPH A ROSEN	91 1 1	93

PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE	
HARLAN	MAYOR	GARY H CHRISTIANSEN JOHNNY WILLIAMS RONALD MOON AL WOODRASKA RAYMOND ANDERSEN AARON HOLTZ	248 1 1 1 1 1	253
	CITY COUNCIL AT LARGE	NATHAN CHRISTENSEN RAND PETERSEN	127 170	297
	CITY COUNCIL 2ND WARD	DAVID F MILLER JERRY STENDRUP	71 1	72
	CITY COUNCIL 4TH WARD	RHONDA A BROWN	39	39

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:33 a.m.

Gayle Petersen, Chairman

ATTEST:

Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.