The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: Roger Schmitz, Chairman; Richard Ferry, Vice-Chairman; LaVon Christensen; and Karen Goans, Acting-Clerk.

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Schmitz, to approve the agenda AND the following items contained in the Consent Agenda:

- A. Minutes of November 1, 2005
- B. Office Reports None
- C. Committee Reports

AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Schmitz, to approve the Claims of November 15, 2005, as listed in the Claims Register. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the board to canvass the returns of the Shelby County Municipal Election held on November 8, 2005, the board did canvass with the following results:

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
IRWIN	MAYOR	*	GARY L HANSON	48
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	* *	DONALD D FERRY PATRICIA GAWLEY RANDY RADEMACKER JAMES BURNETTE BECKY RADEMACKERE RANDY BIRKS DON HOLDSWORTH DIXIE ANDERSEN WILBUR WETZEL	36 48 22 1 1 1 1 1 9

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
DEFIANCE	MAYOR	*	JOHN J WELLS	50
			MIKE KIMMEN	1
			JACK KIRSHBAUM	1
			ED SCHMITZ	
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	*	MARY ANN ANASTASI	45
		*	ROBERT E MCCONNELL	45
		*	GEORGE REWERTS	48
			BRIAN TRADER	19
			ED WALWER	1
			LARRY PATTERSON	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
PANAMA	MAYOR	*	HANK ARKFELD LARRY KEANE	1 16
			TERRY SCHWERY JOHN WENDT	8
			JERRY PAULEY	1
			GEO LEUSCHEN	1

		JAMIE ARKFELD ROBERT THEULEN JIM KLOEWER DUANE ASSMAN DENNIS SCHWERY KATHLEEN CUE JIM KEANE	3 2 1 1 1 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	<ul> <li>GEORGE LEUSCHEN</li> <li>JIM KEANE</li> <li>PAUL THEULEN BILL SCHAFER DALE SCHWERY ALLEN BRUCK PAUL SCHWERY SCOTT PAULEY LARRY KEANE DENNY KHOLES BOB HUEBERT GLEN WINGERT TERRY SCHWERY STEVE WEGNER MATT SCHMITZ DENIS KLOEWER KARI KOHLES LORETTA KENKEL GEORGE SCHWERY JAYME ARKFELD JEREMY KRUSE BERNIE HERMENSON DEAN KLOEWER KATHLEEN CUE KERRY PAULEY MARK CRALL CHRISTINE KLOEWER</li> </ul>	40 9 6 4 3 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
PRECINCT	OFFICE	CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
PANAMA	OFFICE CITY COUNCIL (CONT)	CANDIDATE TIM HERBST TERESA ASSMANN JERRY PAULEY RON KOHLES KEN CUE NICK SCHWERY STACY SCHMITZ	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

				TOTAL VOTES FOR
PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	CANDIDATE
EARLING	MAYOR	*	ARNOLD L MARTIN	63
			MARK KRAMER	1
			GARRY GAUL	1
			MARVIN GROSS	2
			JOE RAU	1

KENNY SCHWERY

JOHN WENDT

1

1

CITY COUNCIL (3)	*	MATTHEW J BRUCK	64
	*	JANICE A GAUL	63
		MARY LOU	
	*	SCHIMEROWSKI	67
		LUANN BUCKLEY	1
		JOHN BRUCK	1
		LOIS DRESEN	1
		JOANN BRUCK	1
		BETTY GROTE	1
		DEAN FINKEN	1
		GERALD BOGLER	1
		DON BRUCK	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
WESTPHALIA	MAYOR	*	JEROME M GROSS	19
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	* *	BRIAN ARKFELD JULIE GOETZINGER DIANE M SICK KENNETH HALL DAISY DUKE	17 16 17 1 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
KIRKMAN	MAYOR	*	RONALD HEESE MICHELLE ANDERSEN	14 6

CITY COUNCIL (2)	<ul> <li>MICHAEL FLOWERS</li> <li>CLINTON KIENAST CALVIN PETERSEN TERRY FISCUS LARRY ANDERSEN MIKE NORRIS</li> </ul>	19 3 1 1 1 2
	MIKE NORRIS	2
	JIM BAUGHMAN	1
	KATHY PLUMB	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
PORTSMOUTH	MAYOR	*	MARK SNETHEN TED TARNEY	36 1

*	JON M SCHABEN	35
*	AMY K SCHAFER	27
*	TRENT SCHUNING	34
	BRADLEY JAY SCHWERY	9
**	KEN SLAVEN	9
	CHUCK LEINEN	1
	DAN LEFEBER	2
	TED TARNEY	5
	MARK SNETHEN	1
	JOSH SCHMITZ	2
	GLEN KLEFFMAN	1
	HELEN MILLER	1
	RICH LEINEN	1
	JEFF SCHMITZ	1
	JEFF SCHMIDT	1
	STAN SLAVEN	1
	RON KLEFFMAN	1
	ALICE RAU	1
	BOB CROGHAN	2
	GARY WILKE	1
	AVIS SLAVEN	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
SHELBY	MAYOR	*	RON KROLL MATT RIEBER ELMER FUDD	80 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	*	STEVEN NIZIOL LUCILLE SCHLENSIG RONALD GOETZINGER BRAD BLUM DANNY HALL JEAN JENSEN ROD ROBINSON	60 52 26 12 1 1 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
TENNANT	MAYOR	*	ROY WILLIAMSON ROBERT JENSEN LORI TEACHOUT BERNARD COX	29 19 2 1

	*		
CITY COUNCIL (2)	^	HAROLD PETERS	31
	*	MARK TEARNEY	26
		BERNARD COX	22
		JOSEPH HENRIKSEN	17
		PAULA CAMPBELL	1
		RONALD PETERS	1
		ROBERT JENSEN	1

## NEED TO DRAW LOTS 5TH COUNCIL SEAT

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
ELK HORN	CITY COUNCIL (2)	*	PAUL K HANSEN JAMES MCCARTHY BURTON ESBECK	30 28 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
HARLAN	MAYOR	*	GARY H CHRISTIANSEN WM CAMPBELL, SR WILLIAM CAMPBELL	169 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL AT LARGE	*	DAVID H PEDERSEN BILL REID	138 57
	CITY COUNCIL 1ST WARD	*	KEITH A KAUFMAN	36
	CITY COUNCIL 3RD WARD	*	ORV ROECKER RANDY GREER BILL REID	46 1 1

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Christensen, to appoint Dr. Bret Heilesen, term expiring 12-31-2010, and Roger Mikkelsen, to fill the unexpired 12-31-2006 term of Rowland Burton, to the County Conservation Board. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

It was moved by Christensen, seconded by Ferry, to appoint James Burmeister and Mike Rasmussen to serve as the Board of Supervisors representatives on the County Compensation Board. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Christensen, to approve the following resolution:

RESOLUTION NO. 2005-25 RESOLUTION TO DISSOLVE 28E AGREEMENT TO ENHANCE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF HARLAN AND SHELBY COUNTY WHEREAS, the City of Harlan ("City") and Shelby County ("County") entered into a 28E Agreement on September 4, 2001 entitled 28E Agreement to Enhance Economic Development, hereinafter referred to as the "Agreement", and

WHEREAS, the City and County have continued under this Agreement since first approved, and

WHEREAS, said the City of Harlan has determined that it is in the best interests of the City of Harlan and Shelby County to give notice pursuant to Article IX of the Agreement to terminate participation, effective July 1, 2006, and

WHEREAS, notice was given to the County prior to adoption of this resolution, and

WHEREAS, in lieu of said Agreement, the City of Harlan will in good faith file the required December 1 Certification to the Shelby County Auditor based on the anticipated January 1 estimated Tax Increment valuation, for approximately 70% of the debt on the City books.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa that said 28E Agreement be terminated

PASSED AND APPROVED this 15th day of November, 2005.

Ayes: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen Nayes: None

A discussion was held on the Weed Commissioners Report. Bryce Schaben, Weed Commissioner, will attend the next Board meeting and explain the report.

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Christensen, to authorize the Chairman to sign the Mortgage Release for Down Payment Assistance Project No. 00-HM-104-020. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

The County Engineer was not available to give the secondary road project update.

David Yamada, DevelopSource Director, appeared before the Board to update them on ongoing economic development projects.

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Roger Schmitz, Chairman

ATTEST:

Karen Goans Acting-Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Board approval at the next regular meeting.

Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to