The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: Roger Schmitz, Chairman; Richard Ferry, Vice-Chairman; LaVon Christensen; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

It was moved by Christensen, seconded by Ferry, to approve the agenda with the following addition: Appoint County Wellness Committee members. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the Board to canvass of the Primary Election of June 3, 2008, the Board did canvass the returns.

The canvassed returns for United States Senator, United States Representative - District 5, and State Representative - District 57 were certified to the Secretary of State as required by Section 50.30, Code of Iowa.

The canvassed returns for elected offices for Shelby County are certified as follows:

## DEMOCRATIC PARTY COUNTY TICKET

County Auditor Marsha J. Carter
County Sheriff No one nominated
Board of Supervisors James Burmeister
Daniel Heller

## REPUBLICAN PARTY COUNTY TICKET

County Auditor

County Sheriff

Board of Supervisors

No one nominated

Mark Hervey

Delbert Hull

Randy Nelson

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Christensen, to appoint the following members to the County Wellness Committee: Secondary Road Union-eligible employees – Frank Sick and Todd Jacobsen; Non-Union Employee – Julie Goeser. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None. No other names had been submitted for the remaining two seats, but the Chairman requested that this be taken care of at the next meeting.

Bob Seivert, EMA Coordinator, appeared before the Board to discuss the flooding in the surrounding counties and to state that he would keep the Board informed if a Disaster Declaration would become necessary for Shelby County.

The County Engineer discussed issues relating to RAGBRAI, signage and road maintenance.

It was moved by Ferry, seconded by Christensen, to set the Secondary Road fuel letting date as July 1, 2008, at 9:30 a.m. AYES: Schmitz, Ferry, Christensen NAYES: None

There being no further business adjourned at 9:54 a.m.	appearing,	the	Chairman	declared	the	meeting
Roger Schmitz, Chairman TEST:						
Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors						

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.