The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present:, Roger Schmitz, Chairman; Delbert Hull, Vice-Chairman; James Burmeister; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Burmeister, to approve the agenda. AYES: Schmitz, Hull, Burmeister NAYES: None

Lonnie Maguire, Community Services Director, appeared before the Board to update them on the status of the Mental Health Risk Pool award of \$203,000, which is scheduled to be sent to the County in September. Maguire had received notice that even though these funds had been appropriated by the General Assembly, they were part of the State's Federal Stimulus Package and remain Federal Funds and as such, must be obligated, liquidated, tracked, and reported in a manner that is in compliance with applicable Federal and State requirements. In addition, these funds cannot be used as non-federal match for Medicaid or other federal programs that required non-federal match. Maguire had received information from the State that this money could be used to pay for clients in Residential Care Facilities and felt that she had more than the \$203,000 costs in that area. Maguire wanted the Board to be aware that this expenditure could be questioned by the Federal program at some point in the future, but she will retain all the documentation she has received from the State pertaining to this issue. It was moved by Burmeister, seconded by Hull, to authorize the Chair to sign the Memorandum of Understanding Acknowledgement of Accountability, Transparency and Reporting Requirements for ARRA Government Services Fund Dollars Appropriated to Iowa's County Risk Pool. AYES: Schmitz, Hull, Burmeister NAYES: None

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Schmitz, to designate the Auditor's Office to compile the results from each polling site for the canvass. AYES: Schmitz, Hull, Burmeister NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the board to canvass the returns of the Shelby County School Election held on September 8, 2009, the Board certified the following results of the Harlan, IKM, and Elk Horn-Kimballton School Districts:

HARLAN COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

Director District No. 1	Al Hazelton	321 - Winner
Director District No. 2	Jay Christensen Dick Kluver	222 - Winner 163
Director District No. 3	Lonnie Muxfeldt Scattering	313 - Winner 1
Director District No. 4	Tammy Schwartz	292 - Winner

IKM COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

Director District At Large	Judy Erb Ron Rasmussen Randy Rademak Scattering			
Director District No. 1	Kenny Juhl	54 - Winner		
Director District No. 4	Jim Rasmussen Scattering	4 - Winner 11		
ELK HORN-KIMBALLTON COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT				
Director District No. 2	Tamie Fahn	44 – Winner		
Director District No. 3	Kevin L Peterser Scattering	rn 44 – Winner 2		
Director District No. 5	Stacie Larsen Scattering	41 - Winner 3		
IOWA WESTERN COMMUNITY COLLEGE - AREA XIII				
Director District No. 9	Randy Pash	398		
The results for Area XIII Director District No. 9 were certified to Pottawattamie, the control county, for tabulation.				
There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 10:02 a.m.				
ATTEST:	Ro	oger Schmitz, Chairman		
Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supe	ervisors			