The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present:, Roger Schmitz, Chairman; Delbert Hull, Vice-Chairman; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk. Absent: James Burmeister.

It was moved by Schmitz, seconded by Hull, to approve the agenda. AYES: Schmitz, Hull NAYES: None

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Schmitz, to designate the Auditor's Office to compile the results from each polling site for the canvass. AYES: Schmitz, Hull NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the board to canvass the returns of the Shelby County Municipal Election held on November 3, 2009, it was moved by Hull, seconded by Schmitz, to certify the following results. AYES: Schmitz, Hull NAYES: None

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
IRWIN	MAYOR	*	RANDY RADEMACKER RANDY SORENSEN GARY HANSON JEREMY NIELSEN BRET RICHARDS RANDY BIRKS WILBUR WETZEL ANDREW RASMUSSEN	67 1 2 1 3 2 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	* * *	DON FERRY LEE FERRY PATRICIA GAWLEY WILLIAM D MCMAHON LANA SCHWIESO JIM ELDER MEREDITH LEE	23 23 86 66 74 1 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
DEFIANCE	MAYOR	*	JOHN WELLS JOANE WALKER SALLY WEIHS JEFF THEULEN MIKE KIMMEN	39 2 1 2 1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	* *	MARY ANN ANASTASI ROBERT MCCONNELL GEORGE REWERTS DOUG SCHMITZ WES WALKER JEFF THEULEN	46 44 46 1 2 1

DEFONIOT	055105		TOTAL VOTES FOR
PANAMA	MAYOR	MARY ASSMANN	3
		JAMES KEANE GERALD PAULEY	2 5
		* GEORGE LEUSCHEN	5 21
		JAMIE ARKFELD	21
		DUANE ASSMANN	2
		ADAM GUBBELS	1
		PAUL SCHWERY	1
		LARRY KEANE	3
		DON ASSMANN	3 1
		TERRY SCHWERY	2
		DENNY KOHLES	1
		KEN PAULEY	1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	DEAN KLOEWER	1
		CORY FREUND	11
		JOHN WENDT	1
		PAUL THEULEN	3
		PAUL SCHWERY	2
		KERRY PAULEY	1
		SCOTT PAULEY	1
		KEN PAULEY	1
		DENNIS SCHWERY	1
		* JEREMY KRUSE	21
		* MATT SCHMITZ	22
		DENNY GROSS	1
		DAVID KOHLES	1
		GEORGE LEUSCHEN	8
		* LARRY KEANE	16
		JIM KEANE	8
		MARY ASSMANN	3
		PHIL SCHWERY	2
		DONNA MAHLBERG	2
		JIM KLOEWER	1
		CHRISTENE KLOEWER	1
		ALLEN BRUCK	1
		ROLAND SMITH	2
		DENNY KOHLES	1
		WILL SCHAFER	2
		JOI SCHWERY	2
		TERRY SCHWERY	5
		TYLER MILLER	1
		JERRY PAULEY	
			TOTAL VOTES FOR
PRECINCT EARLING	OFFICE MAYOR	CANDIDATE RANDY HEESE	CANDIDATE 47
		* LOIS DRESEN	67
		LOIS SIBENALLER	2
		JEFF FAH	- 1
		JIM GAUL	1
		PETE GROSS	1
			1
		MARY L SCHIMEROSKI	
		MARY L SCHIMEROSKI NICK CADWELL	1
		NICK CADWELL	-
			1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN	1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH	1 1 2
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN	1 1 2 46
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN * JACKIE FRUM	1 1 2 46 66
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN * JACKIE FRUM * JANICE A GAUL	1 1 2 46 66 83
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN * JACKIE FRUM * JANICE A GAUL * KELLY MAHLBERG	1 1 2 46 66 83 61
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN * JACKIE FRUM * JANICE A GAUL * KELLY MAHLBERG GAIL SCHWARTE	1 1 2 46 66 83 61 17
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN JACKIE FRUM JANICE A GAUL KELLY MAHLBERG GAIL SCHWARTE KELLY S SCHWARTE	1 1 2 46 66 83 61 17
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN JACKIE FRUM JANICE A GAUL KELLY MAHLBERG GAIL SCHWARTE KELLY S SCHWARTE DICK KLEIN	1 1 2 46 66 83 61 17 17 17
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	NICK CADWELL RICHARD FINKEN JAMIE FAH CONNIE ANDERSEN JACKIE FRUM JANICE A GAUL KELLY MAHLBERG GAIL SCHWARTE KELLY S SCHWARTE DICK KLEIN LOIS DRESEN	1 1 2 46 66 83 61 17 17 17 6

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
WESTPHALIA	MAYOR	*	JEROME M GROSS DAN KAUFMAN STEVE SCHMITZ	21 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	* *	BRIAN ARKFELD JULIE GOETZINGER DIANE M SICK STEVE SCHMITZ GARY SCHULTE KEVIN MUSICH	17 22 20 2 2 1

				TOTAL VOTES FOR
PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	CANDIDATE
KIRKMAN	MAYOR	*	RON HEESE	12
			CLINT KIENAST	1
			CALVIN PETERSON	9
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	**	CLINTON KIENAST	8
			MIKE FLOWERS	7
		*	STEVE BARRATT	9
	NEED TO DRAW LOTS		GARY BROWN	8
	FOR 2ND SEAT		MARVIN SONNY GOANS	4
			TERRY FISCUS	2
			ROBERT KIMBALL	1
			LISA FLOWERS	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
PORTSMOUTH	MAYOR	GARY KENNE DONNI DAN LI GALEN	T SCHUNING KOHLES ETH SLAVEN IE KENKEL EFEBER N PAULEY CHABEN	4 1 1 1 1 3
	CITY COUNCIL (3)	BOB C * TIM BL * CRAIG AMY S GALEN KENNE JEFF S MIKE S SUSIE GARY GARY	G RAU SCHAFFER N PAULEY ETH SLAVEN SCHMIDT	8 2 4 3 2 2 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
SHELBY	MAYOR	*	LISA JUHL RON KROLL	95 54
			DAN HALL	1
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	*	JIM CUNNINGHAM	84
			DOYLE GILLAND	43
		*	KRISTEN LUND	70
			SHEILA M RIHNER	56
			LUCILLE SCHLENSIG	34
			BRIAN ANDERSON	1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES FOR CANDIDATE
TENNANT	MAYOR	*	LORI TEACHOUT	23
	CITY COUNCIL (2)	*	HAROLD PETERS MARK TEARNEY ROBERT JENSEN KENNETH THOMPSON RON PETERS	20 20 1 1

PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	TOTAL \ FO CANDII	R
ELK HORN	CITY COUNCIL (2)	*	PAUL K HANSEN JERRY HOFFMAN JIM MCCARTHY JILL MADSEN RYAN LARSEN STEVE LUKE BRIAN PETERSEN NATE POTTS JOHN DOUGHTY DEWEY LINDEN TOM CANNON BARRY ELDAHL LARRY FAJEN		28 1 15 4 2 2 6 1 2 1 1 1 1
	HOTEL/MOTEL TAX INCREASE FROM 3% TO 5%	*	١	/ES NO	30 6

				TOTAL VOTES FOR
PRECINCT	OFFICE		CANDIDATE	CANDIDATE
HARLAN	MAYOR	*	GARY H CHRISTIANSEN JOSHUA A GEAR DAVID TYRREL KEITH BAUER	269 85 195 1
	CITY COUNCIL AT LARGE	*	AARON ANLIKER BILL REID LORI CHRISTENSON RALPH LITTLE NATE JACOBSEN BILL EARLY LINDA HECKMAN BRUCE BURGER STEVE BOARDMAN BRIAN GUBBELS JEFFERY CLARK	473 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL 1ST WARD	*	KEITH A KAUFMAN CRAIG NANCE LARRY MCDERMOTT	91 1 1
	CITY COUNCIL 3RD WARD	*	ORVAL B ROECKER BILL ROYAL KATE HOHORST KENNY OHLINGER JOHN AUTRY ROD MCMURPHY	126 1 2 1 1 1

This being the time and place as advertised for the opening of bids for Shelby County Project L-EWP08(4) – 73-83, the Board proceeded to open and read the bids as follows: Nelson/Rock, Onawa, IA - \$72,450.00; Clark Construction, Whiting, IA - \$80,150.00; Murphy Heavy Contracting, Anita IA - \$104,400.00; Graves Construction, Spencer, IA -\$106,900.00; K & L Landscaping and Construction, Seargent Bluff, IA - \$116,700.00; Peterson Contractors, Reinbeck, IA - \$135,300.00. It was moved by Hull, seconded by Schmitz, to accept the bid of Nelson/Rock, Onawa, IA for \$72,450.00 and authorize the Chairman to sign all contract documents and authorize the Auditor to issue warrants for progress payments as recommended by the County Engineer. AYES: Schmitz, Hull NAYES: None

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.

ATTEST:

Roger Schmitz, Chairman

Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors