The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: Roger Schmitz, Chairman; James Burmeister, Vice-Chairman; Delbert Hull; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

The Chair asked that any Conflict of Interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. None were stated.

It was moved by Burmeister, seconded by Hull, to approve the agenda. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Burmeister, to approve the minutes of October 18, 2012, as presented. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

It was moved by Burmeister, seconded by Hull, to approve the Claims of October 31, 2012, and place the listing on file in the Auditor's Office. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

This being the day set by law for the Board to canvass the results of the General Election of November 6, 2012, the Board did canvass the returns.

It was moved by Burmeister, seconded by Hull, to designate the Auditor's Office to compile the results from each polling site for the canvass. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

## SHELBY COUNTY GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS NOVEMBER 6, 2012

President/Vice President			
Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan-Republican	3911		
Barack Obama/Joe Biden-Democratic	2469		
Virgil Goode/James Clymer-Constitution	11		
Jill Stein/Cheri Honkala- Iowa Green Party	12		
Gary Johnson/James P Gray-Libertarian			
Gloria LaRiva/Stefanie Beacham-Party for Socialism & Liberation			
James Harris/Alyson Kennedy-Socialist Workers Party			
Jerry Litzel/Jim Litzel-Nominated by Petition	1		
Scattering	18		
<u>U.S. House of Representatives – District 4</u>			
Steve King-Republican	3637		
Christie Vilsack-Democratic	2491		
Martin James Monroe-Nominated by Petition	134		
Scattering	3		
State Representative - District 18			
Jason Schultz-Republican	3715		
Kasey Friedrichsen-Democratic	1951		
Scattering	18		
County Supervisor			
*Steve Kenkel-Republican	4198		
*Charles Parkhurst-Republican	3285		
LaVon Christensen-Democratic	1783		
Jerry Henscheid-Democratic	2016		
Scattering	21		

<sup>\*</sup>Denotes Winner

<sup>\*\*</sup>Denotes Winner-Drew Lots

County Auditor  *Marsha J. Carter-Democratic Scattering	4658 83
County Sheriff *Mark Hervey-Republican Scattering	5431 86
Cass Township Trustee  *Jim Crawford  *Write-In-Richard Ohlinger Scattering	104 5 8
Center Township Trustee  *Cynthia North  *Write-In-Scott Burchett  Scattering	185 16 7
Clay Township Trustee  *Gerry L. Greve  **Write-In-Howard Sorensen  Scattering	140 1 5
Douglas Township Trustee  *Adrian Nelson  *Write-In-Terry Fiscus  Scattering	102 2 2
<u>Fairview Township Trustee</u> *Everette H. Carroll *Jerome Mumm	110 92
Greeley Township Trustee  *Alan Jensen  *Roger Ahrenholtz  Scattering	82 94 1
Grove Township Trustee  *Write-In-Mike Tremel  **Write-In-Clint Sonderman Scattering	3 1 14
Jackson Township Trustee  *Kelly Doonan  *Write-In-Dave Christensen  Scattering	134 2 10
<u>Jefferson Townhsip Trustee</u> *Write-In-Nick Hansen  *Write-In-Jim Clark  Scattering	7 4 5
<u>Lincoln Township Trustee</u> *H. David Boettger *Linda Buman Scattering	132 142 2

Monroe Township Trustee *Larry Madson *Kenneth Peters Scattering	92 88 1
Polk Township Trustee  *Eugene Juhl  **Write-In-Rowland Burton Scattering	83 1 4
Shelby Township Trustee  **Write-In-Mel Hursey  **Write-In-Ron Kroll  Scattering	1 1 4
<u>Union Township Trustee</u> *Gerald J. Kohles *James J. Kohles Scattering	74 65 3
Washington Township Trustee  *Write-In-Ralph Schwery  *Write-In-Tom Schwery  Scattering	5 6 25
Westphalia Township Trustee *Donald Herbst *Write-In-Bob Kaufman Scattering	143 2 3
Soil & Water Conservation Commission  *Dennis Gaul  *Carl Petersen  *Jason Monson Scattering	3469 3362 3511 37
County Agricultural Extension Council  *Michele Monson  *Rowland Burton  *Julie M. Klein  *Scott Burchett  Scattering	3391 3200 3507 3231 36
County Agricultural Extension Council-Vacancy *Travis Lane Scattering	3632 12
County Public Hospital Trustee  *Terry Torneten  *Jim Zimmerman  *Larry A. Miller  Scattering	3222 3911 3268 46
Supreme Court Justice Edward Mansfield Yes No	2668 1266

Supreme Court Justice Thomas D. Waterman Yes No	2569 1301
Supreme Court Justice David S. Wiggins Yes No	1922 2490
Supreme Court Justice Bruce B. Zager Yes No	2539 1273
Court of Appeals Judge Michael R. Mullins Yes No	2554 1095
Court of Appeals Judge Mary Ellen Tabor Yes No	2563 1093
Court of Appeals Judge Anuradha Vaitheswaran Yes No	2237 1354
<u>District Court 4 Judge Mark J. Eveloff</u> Yes No	2516 1110
<u>District Court 4 Judge James M. Richardson</u> Yes No	2658 1083
<u>District Court 4 Judge Gregory W. Steensland</u> Yes No	2511 1176
<u>District Court 4 Associate Judge Craig Michael Dreismeier</u> Yes No	2571 1080

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Burmeister, to set the date for the auction for the cash rent of the County Farm land as 9:00 a.m. on November 20, 2012. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

Jennifer Muff, Public Health Administrator, appeared before the Board to request that the FY2014 funding for Public Health be increased to \$100,000. It was moved by Burmeister to increase the funding to Myrtue Medical Center - Public Health from \$57,500 to \$77,500 for FY2014. The motion died for lack of second. Chairman Schmitz stated that this matter would be discussed during the FY2014 budget process.

Lonnie Maguire, Community Services Director, appeared before the Board to discuss the regionalization of the mental health system and individual County funding. The newly formed region will include nine counties with five CPCs. It was suggested by the representatives for the region that the individual County funding be pooled for mental health services. It was moved by Hull, seconded by Burmeister, to approve the recommendation of the mental health region representatives of pooling the County funds for mental health services. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

Maguire also presented her FY2012 Annual Report to the Board.

The Board had received a notice from ISAC that the County Rate Information System (CRIS) 28E Agreement will be terminated as of June 30, 2013. Maguire explained that this system is being phased out.

It was moved by Hull, seconded by Burmeister, to appoint Alison Manz to the Solid Waste Agency Board to fill the unexpired term of Lloyd Robinson, term expiring March 1, 2013. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

Dan Ahart, County Engineer, was available to update the Board on activities of the county road crews and the status of current maintenance and construction projects.

It was moved by Burmeister, seconded by Hull, to approve the Iowa Department of Transportation Agreement between Shelby County and the IDOT for Federal Highway Bridge Program Funding BRS-CO83(53) – 60-83 F32 (Kennedy Road) Bridge Replacement. AYES: Schmitz, Burmeister, Hull NAYES: None

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 10:32 a m

		Roger Schmitz, Chairman
ATTEST:_		
	Marsha J. Carter Clerk to the Board of Supervisors	

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.