The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: Charles Parkhurst, Chairman; Roger Schmitz, Vice Chairman; Steve Kenkel; and Marsha J. Carter, Clerk.

The Chair asked that any Conflict of Interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. None were stated.

It was moved by Schmitz, seconded by Kenkel, to approve the agenda with the addition of Harlan Library Update. AYES: Parkhurst, Schmitz, Kenkel NAYES: None

It was moved by Kenkel, seconded by Schmitz, to approve the Minutes of January 2, 2015, as presented. AYES: Parkhurst, Schmitz, Kenkel NAYES: None

Senator-Elect Jason Schultz, Representative-Elect Steve Holt, representative from Farm Bureau and other interested parties were in attendance to discuss the future funding of our Secondary Road System. Increasing the gas tax was a major topic of discussion. Dan Ahart, County Engineer, had a power point presentation illustrating the great need for additional funding just for Shelby County with the notation that this is a statewide crisis.

It was moved by Schmitz, seconded by Kenkel, to approve the following committee appointments: Judicial Magistrate Appointing Committee – Randy Armentrout, Roger Schmitz, and Geralyn Greer, term ending 2020; Hotel/Motel Tax Committee – Shelby County Business Owner – Kent Richards, term ending 12-31-2016, and Shelby County Resident – Becky Miller, term ending 12-31-2016; Commission of Veteran Affairs – LaVon Christensen, term ending 6-30-2017; County Board of Local Health – Tina Dotzler, term ending 12-31-2017 and Dr. Brian Andersen to replace Dr. Scott Markham, term ending 12-31-2015; Shelby County Local Government Committee – Nathan Buman, Rex Adams, and Vicki Schmitz, terms ending 12-31-2017; Shelby County Planning and Zoning Board – Jon Noon and Carolyn Blum, terms ending 12-31-2018; Shelby County Board of Adjustment – Carolyn Blum, term ending 12-31-2019. AYES: Parkhurst, Schmitz, Kenkel NAYES: None

Mike Burris, Harlan Community Library, appeared before the Board to update them on the status of the Library and ongoing activities.

Dan Ahart, County Engineer, was available to update the Board on activities of the county road crews and the status of current maintenance and construction projects.

It was moved by Schmitz, seconded by Kenkel, to approve the plans for Bridge Replacement – CCS BROS-CO83(58)--5F-83, Ferry Bridge at Nishna Ave and Center Section 1, as recommended by the County Engineer. AYES: Parkhurst, Schmitz, Kenkel NAYES: None

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

ATTEST:

Charles Parkhurst, Chairman

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.