The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. via electronically broadcast video with the following members present Charles Parkhurst, Chairman; Darin Haake, Vice-Chairperson; Supervisor Steve Kenkel and Mark Maxwell, Clerk.

This meeting is to be recorded and broadcast via Shelby County Auditor is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

The meeting is made available to the public with the live broadcast of this meeting. Meeting ID: 833 5914 9860 https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87397242441

The Chair asked that any conflict of interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. No conflicts were stated.

A motion was made by Kenkel and seconded by Haake to approve the agenda with no additions. AYES: Unanimous NAYES: None

This being the day designated for the 2020 Primary Election Canvass the Supervisors then had the results of the nominations for the November ballot for Partisan races which will include the winners of the Primary contests. The members of the County Board of Canvassers, hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this county, at the Primary Election held on Tuesday, June 02, 2020, and as shown by the tally lists returned from the several election precincts as follows:

# **United States Senator - Republican**

Joni Ernst Received One Thousand Five Hundred and Forty-Five (1,545) votes

Scattering Received Ten (10) votes

Total One Thousand Five Hundred and Fifty-Five (1,555) votes

#### **United States Senator - Democratic**

Michael Franken Received Ninety-Six (96) votes Kimberly Graham Received Ninety-Five (95) votes

Theresa Greenfield Received Four Hundred and Thirty-Seven (437) votes

Eddie J. Mauro Received Sixty-Three (63) votes
Cal Woods Received Eighteen (18) votes
Scattering Received Two (2) votes

Total Seven Hundred and Eleven (711) votes

<u>United States Representative District 4 - Republican</u>

Randy Feenstra Received Two Hundred and Eighty-Two (282) votes

Steve King Received Six Hundred and Ninety (690) votes

Steven Reeder Received Sixty-Five (65) votes

Bret A. Richards Received Four Hundred and Eighty-Seven (487) votes

Jeremy Taylor Received Ninety-Five (95) votes

Scattering Received Two (2) votes

Total One Thousand Six Hundred and Twenty-One (1,621) votes

<u>United States Representative District 4 - Democratic</u>

J.D. Scholten Received Six Hundred and Fifty-Six (656) votes

Scattering Received Six (6) votes

Total Six Hundred and Sixty-Two (662) votes

# State Representative District 18 - Republican

Steven Holt Received One Thousand Five Hundred and Twenty (1,520) votes

Scattering Received Ten (10) votes

Total One Thousand Five Hundred and Thirty (1,530) votes

State Representative District 18 - Democratic

Damon Hopkins Received Six Hundred and Sixteen (616) votes

Scattering Received Four (4) votes

Total Six Hundred and Twenty (620) votes

# County Supervisor At Large - Republican

Steve Kenkel Received One Thousand Four Hundred and Ten (1,410) votes
Charles Parkhurst Received One Thousand Two Hundred and Seventy-Nine(1,279) votes

Scattering Received Thirty-Two (32) votes

Total Two Thousand Seven Hundred and Twenty-One (2,721) votes

# County Supervisor At Large - Democratic

Scattering Received Seventy (70) votes

Total Seventy (70) votes

## **County Auditor - Republican**

Mark Maxwell Received One Thousand Five Hundred and Fifty (1,550) votes

Scattering Received Six (6) votes

Total One Thousand Five Hundred and Fifty-Six (1,556) votes

# **County Auditor - Democratic**

Scattering Received Thirty-Two (32) votes

Total Thirty-Two (32) votes

# **County Sheriff - Republican**

Neil W. Gross Received One Thousand Five Hundred and Seventy-Five (1,575) votes

Scattering Received Thirteen (13) votes

Total One Thousand Five Hundred and Eighty-Eight (1,588) votes

# **County Sheriff - Democratic**

Scattering Received Forty-Two (42) votes

Total Forty-Two (42) votes

Haake made a motion approve the Cavass with Kenkel seconding the motion. Haake, Kenkel and Parkhurst all voted in favor of accepting the Cavass.

Voter Turnout was 26.67% at this Primary election.

The post-election audit was then presented to the Supervisors. The techniques and results of the audit were presented with Haake making a motion to accept the audit results and Kenkel seconded the motion. Parkhurst, Haake and Kenkel all voted in favor of the motion to approve and accept the election audit.

The Supervisors then placed on the agenda a chance for any pandemic related decisions or discussion that may be needed before the regular meeting next Tuesday. Charles Parkhurst was contacted about fireworks on July 4th in Harlan. He was notified that they will be presented. Opening the Courthouse on June 17th is still on scheduled with many questions asked of the Treasurers office because of the traffic the Treasurers office receives. Appointments are being scheduled now for business at the Treasurers office. The Recorders office will take appointments until June 17th. Then be open for normal business. Having no further business the meeting was adjourned.

Charles Parkhurst, Chairman
ATTEST:
Mark L. Maxwell
Clerk to the Board of Supervisors