The Board of Supervisors of Shelby County, Iowa, met pursuant to law and rules of said board in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the Supervisors Chambers of the Shelby County Courthouse with the following members present: Darin Haake, Chairperson, Steve Kenkel Vice Chairperson and Charles Parkhurst, Supervisor also Mark Maxwell Shelby County Commissioner of Elections.

The Chairperson asked that any Conflict of Interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. None were stated.

It was moved by Kenkel, seconded by Parkhurst, to approve the agenda. AYES: Parkhurst, Haake and Kenkel NAYES: None

It was moved by Kenkel and seconded by Parkhurst to approve the minutes of November 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2021 board meeting. Motion passed.

Lots were drawn to determine the result of the Earling Council person At Large race that was open, and no one ran for the position. Two persons tied, each with two write in votes. Chairperson Haake drew lots and Joey Muenchrath had his name drawn for the position.

The following resolution numbered 2021-32 was then considered after a motion by Kenkel and a second by Parkhurst.

## RESOLUTION 2021-32 – CERTIFICATION (CANVASS) OF SHELBY COUNTY ELECTION RESULTS, COMBINED CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION

WHEREAS, the CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION was held as prescribed by law on November 2, 2021, and WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers have canvassed the vote of said elections in accordance with §50.24 of the *Code of Iowa*, now therefore BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that we, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers of Shelby County, Iowa, do hereby certify the following TURNOUT REPORT and RESULTS in the CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION, held November 2, 2021, and that no obvious clerical errors were identified during the canvass. One Thousand five hundred fifty two (1,552) people voted at the polls on election day. Two hundred twenty seven (227) absentee ballots were accepted for counting. One (1) provisional ballot was accepted for counting. A total of one thousand seven hundred eighty (1,780) people voted.

All races are for a term of four (4) years unless otherwise noted.

## CANDIDATES ELECTED BY THE VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE CITIES LOCATED WHOLLY WITHIN SHELBY COUNTY:

Defiance Mayor 2 years- Jamie Goetz

Defiance Council: Brian Arkfeld, Gabe Baughman, Jake Gubbels

Earling Mayor 2 years: Janice Gaul

Earling Council at large.(three to be elected): Jackie Frum, Troy Langenfeld, Joey Muenchrath

Elk Horn Council At Large (two to be elected): Derick Hogberg, Nolan Teegerstrom

Elk Horn Council at large to fill a vacancy: Kendall Petersen

Harlan Mayor (two-year term): Mike Kolbe

Harlan City Council at Large (Center) Sharon Kroger

Harlan City Council Ward 1- Jay Christensen

Harlan City Council Ward 3: Jeana Rudolph

Irwin Mayor(two-year term): James Borcher

Irwin Council three to be elected: Greg Gaer, William D. McMahon, Lana Schwieso

Kirkman Mayor (two-year term): Matt Nielsen

Kirkman Council (two to be elected): Terry Fiscus, Ron Heese

Panama Mayor (two-year term) Larry Keane

Panama Council (three to be elected): Matt Schiltz, Cindy Schwery, Jeremy Kruse

Portsmouth Mayor (Two-year term) Donald Kenkel

Portsmouth Council (three to be elected) Dustin Kleffman, Jill Prososki, Tim Blum

City of Shelby (two-year Term) Ron Kroll

City of Shelby (two to be elected) Jackie Hursey, Pat Honeywell

Tennant Mayor (two-year term) James Brantner

Tennant Council (two to be elected) Dennis Oellerich, Todd Hively

Westphalia Mayor (two-year term) Jerome Gross

Westphalia Council (three to be elected): Ed Goetzinger, Julie Goetzinger, Brian Arkfeld

## PUBLIC MEASURES ADOPTED BY VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE JURISDICTION:

Public Measure TE (City of Harlan permission to sell HMU Telecom)

DATED THIS 9th DAY OF NOVEMBER 2021.

And Commissioner of Elections

Maxwell explained that all city races in Shelby County with the exception of the City of Shelby will be declared final today by signatures of the Supervisors present. The City of Shelby is the exception because the results from Pottawattamie County have not been received. An abstract containing the above results is available in the Auditors office and all races and measures that are shared with other Counties will be combined and placed on a final abstract to be approved along with the final canvass on Tuesday November 16<sup>th</sup> at 9:00 AM after results from neighboring Counties are received.

The aggregated results of shared contests will be certified at the final Canvass on November 16<sup>th</sup>, 2021 at 9:00 AM.

Building and grounds issues were discussed, Brandon Burmeister presented information for future meetings, TIF procedures were presented as an informal meeting will take place on Friday between Attorneys and the Auditors office. No motions or joint advisements were made by the board.

There being no further business appearing, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned.

NOTE: These minutes are as recorded by the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.

ATTEST:	Darin Haake, Chairperson
Mark Maxwell	
Clerk to the Board of Supervisors	