May 3rd, 2022

The Shelby County Board of Supervisors met in a regular session at 9:00 A.M. in the City Counsel Chamber in the Harlan City Hall with the following members present: Steve Kenkel, Charles Parkhurst, Darin Haake, and Mark Maxwell, Clerk.

The Chairperson, Steve Kenkel asked that any conflict of interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. Darin Haake stated his spouse is to be recommended to fill a board membership by the Board of Supervisors and he will abstain from voting and abstain from discussion.

It was moved by Parkhurst, seconded by Haake, to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Parkhurst and seconded by Haake to approve the claims of April 30th, 2022. Motion passed.

It was moved by Haake, seconded by Parkhurst to approve the minutes of April 19th, 2022. Motion carried unanimously.

Brandon Burmeister, Shelby County Roads Superintendent, reported that recent rains have improved road maintenance conditions and exposed soft spots. The surfacing material is being placed as the spots show up or are reported. Many other projects being performed by his department were presented.

Geralyn Greer, Shelby County Recorder, presented her quarterly report. Income for the first quarter of 2022 outpaced that of 2021. Most of the income is money collected by the State of Iowa.

Tony Buman, Shelby County Zoning Commissioner, presented the Board with Zoning Commission Representatives for appointment approval by the Board of Supervisors. After a motion by Haake and a second by Parkhurst the following persons were unanimously approved to be seated on the zoning Commission. Duanne Errett, Roger Kenkel, Kirk Petersen, Keith Burchette, JoAnn Barganquast, Stacey Ferry, and Shawn Carter. This is the commission that reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors regarding the Zoning Ordinance itself, including changes to the map. They are the group that needs to approve the Urban Renewal updates and would be the committee that makes recommendations on the work to be started this summer in regard to wind turbines, solar, and hopefully small businesses in the country.

Buman then presented the following names for appointment to the Board of Adjustment, Jason Kopiasz Betty Larsen, Vickie Errett, Robert Burton, and Tammy Haake. This is the board that makes decisions on zoning rules, setbacks from property lines, conditional use permits and other decisions affecting property owners in the unincorporated areas of Shelby County. Parkhurst made a motion to approve the Board appointments and Kenkel seconded the motion. The motion was approved with ayes by Kenkel and Parkhurst. Haake abstained.

Todd Valline of the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce and Industry reported that recent events sponsored by the Chamber have been well attended and that the Chamber will sponsor a golf outing on May 21^{st.}

Haake made a motion and Parkhurst seconded a motion to approve the following Resolution after a reading by the Auditor

RESOLUTION NO. 2022-26

RESOLUTION ALLOCATING AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN ACT FUNDS WHEREAS, in March 2021, the federal government established the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) which included the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (SLFRF) to provide state, local and Tribal governments with the resources needed to respond to the pandemic and its economic effects; and **WHEREAS**, the U.S. Department of the Treasury issued an Interim Final Rule implementing the SLFRF program on May 10, 2021, which included replacing lost revenue to County governments, and **WHEREAS**, on January 6, 2022, the Treasury issued final rules for the SLFRF program, including authorization for counties to allocate up to \$10,000,000 of their total SLFRF allocation as lost revenue to spend on government services. **NOW**, **THEREFORE**, **BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Shelby County Board of Supervisors approves allocating its total SLFRF allocation in the expected amount of \$255,000 as lost revenue to spend on government services to residents.

HEREBY RESOLVED by the Shelby County Board of Supervisors this 3rd day of May, 2022. A vote was held with Kenkel, Parkhurst and Haake all voting in favor of the Resolution. No Nays were cast.

Parkhurst made a motion to approve the following Resolution 2022-27 naming appointing a new Deputy Sheriff.

RESOLUTION NO. 2022-27

A RESOLUTION APPOINTING DEPUTY COUNTY OFFICIALS FOR THE 2022 CALENDAR YEAR BE IT RESOLVED that the following persons shall be appointed deputies for the following offices as recommended by the elected officials according to Chapter 331.903, Code of Iowa Neil Gross Sheriff, Deputy: Lee Whyte. The following vote was counted. Ayes: Kenkel, Parkhurst, Haake Nays: None

The Chairperson then recessed the meeting at 9:36 to gather the needed information from the Auditors office to consider ARPA funding for the various applications received by Shelby County.

The meeting was reconvened at 10:00. Conversation was conduction between the Supervisors was used to determine ARPA funds distribution to those who have applied. Information was exchanged between the Supervisors about how to distribute the remaining funds left for ARPA applicants, an outline was drawn with the amounts to be determined at the next regular Board meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 10:38 AM.

These minutes are yet to be approved at the next Board meeting.

ATTEST:

Steve Kenkel, Chairperson

Mark Maxwell