The Shelby County Board of Supervisors met in a regular session at 9:00 A.M. in the Supervisors Chamber in the Courthouse with the following members present: Steve Kenkel, Charles Parkhurst, Bryce Schaben, and Mark Maxwell, Clerk.

Chairperson, Steve Kenkel, asked that any conflict of interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. None were stated.

It was moved by Parkhurst, seconded by Schaben, to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Schaben moved, seconded by Parkhurst to approve the minutes of November 7th. Motion carried unanimously.

The latest claims were then approved unanimously after a motion by Parkhurst and a second by Schaben.

Shelby County Auditor Mark Maxwell presented the Supervisors with the Certification (Canvass) of the Shelby County election results that were cast in Shelby County on November 7th, 2023.

CANDIDATES ELECTED BY THE VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE CITIES LOCATED WHOLLY WITHIN SHELBY COUNTY:

Shelby County EMS Public Measure - Approved City of Defiance Mayor - Mary Jo Schaben City of Defiance City Council At-Large - Max Powers and Brian Kloewer City of Defiance City Council At-Large To Fill a Vacancy – Bruce Feser City of Earling Mayor - Janice A. Gaul City of Earling City Council At-Large – Brandon Boger and Jill Schiltz City of Elk Horn Mayor - Stan Jens City of Elk Horn City Council At-Large - Danny L. Petersen and Kayla Creek and Kendall Petersen City of Harlan Mayor - Jay Christensen City of Harlan City Council Lincoln Ward - Troy Schaben City of Harlan City Council Ward 2 - Richard Petersen City of Harlan City Council Ward 4 - Jenny Kelly City of Harlan City Council Ward 1 To Fill a Vacancy - Kyle Lindberg City of Irwin Mayor - James Borcher City of Irwin City Council At-Large - Richard Wiig and Jonna Willadsen City of Kirkman Mayor - Matt Nielsen City of Kirkman City Council At-Large - Dennis Baldwin and Terry Fiscus and John Doonan City of Panama Mayor - Larry Keane City of Panama City Council At-Large - Kathleen Ann Schafer and Linda Cogdill City of Portsmouth Mayor - Donald Kenkel City of Portsmouth City Council At-Large - Darci Paxton and Teri Dunn City of Tennant Mayor - James Brantner City of Tennant City Council - Mark Tearney and Paula Campbell and Tom Ewoldt City of Westphalia Mayor - Christopher G. von Ahsen City of Westphalia City Council - Brandon Eck and Bruce Goeser

The meeting then had comments by Steve Kenkel and Chris Nelson of the financial auditing firm that performs auditing services for Shelby County. New Iowa Code involving budgets were discussed and reviewed. Mr. Nelson gave his initial thoughts on the financial report submitted by Shelby County for the year ended June 30th, 2023.

Increasing carryovers and Capital reserves was discussed and the example referred to frequently was the air conditioning at the Courthouse next spring. New budget director Taryn Knapp was present to ask questions and receive information about budget preparation.

The recently passed EMS public measure and implementation was discussed. Auditor Maxwell will create the needed accounts to get the financial details in order when the financial accounts are needed.

Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

ATTEST:

Steve Kenkel, Chairperson