The Shelby County Board of Supervisors met in regular session at 9:00 A.M. in the Supervisors Chamber in the Courthouse with the following members present: Steve Kenkel, Charles Parkhurst, Bryce Schaben, and Mark Maxwell, Clerk.

The Chairperson, Steve Kenkel, asked that any conflict of interest be stated concerning any item on the agenda. None were stated.

It was moved by Schaben, seconded by Parkhurst, to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was then made by Parkhurst to approve the minutes of the June 18th Supervisors special meeting and Primary Election Canvass. Schaben seconded the motion, the motion passed.

It was moved by Schaben, seconded by Parkhurst to approve the latest claims for processing as listed in the claims register. Motion carried unanimously.

Jordon Sanders, interim EMS coordinator presented his department's monthly report. Revenues and expenses for fiscal year 2024 were presented. Last month the EMS department had 124 calls the most calls ever in a month has been 128.

Charles Parkhurst reported that the Hungry Canyons director is retiring and a new director has already been hired. Bryce Schaben told of a possible large flood mitigation credit sale is possible in the coming months this would benefit the Conservation department as well as the City of Earling. Steve Kenkel told that he is still meeting with state and federal authorities about assistance for those affected by the April tornado. Kenkel also noted the recent Iowa Utilities Board conditional approval of the proposed Summit Pipeline. In the Utility Board action, Summit was also granted eminent domain Authority for the pipeline.

Todd Valline reported that his organization, the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce and Industry, is being kept very busy with many community events throughout the summer. Valline is also meeting with representatives from Harrison and Monona Counties to share some of the success stories Shelby County has had with employment in the workforce by those with disabilities.

A Secondary Roads report was then given by Shelby County Engineer, Chris Fredericksen. This also included a utility right of way permit approval request, the permit applications were submitted to the Secondary Roads department by Nishna Valley REC. Schaben made a motion to approve the permit, Parkhurst seconded the motion. The motion to approve the permits passed. Fredericksen gave updates on bridge crew progress and the ditching crew progress. Discussion was also had on the techniques that are to be used on the M-16 culvert repair.

Parkhurst made a motion to approve the following resolution, Schaben seconded the motion;

RESOLUTION 2024-28, A RESOLUTION TO CORRECT A DEPOSIT MADE IN FISCAL YEAR 2023 Whereas The Shelby County Board of Supervisors held a sealed bid Auction for the disposal of a Road Right of Way in June of 2023. Whereas Road right of ways are the property of Secondary Roads Whereas Iowa code limits the amount of money that can be transferred or given to Secondary roads from the General Fund property tax revenues in any given fiscal year. Whereas the deposit was made to the General Fund in the amount of \$17,008.00. The right of way sold was owned by Secondary Roads. Whereas clarification is needed to separate this claim from property tax revenues. Therefore, The Shelby County Board of Supervisors authorizes the claim by the Shelby County Secondary Roads Department as a correction and not the distribution of property tax dollars governed by Iowa Code for the current fiscal year 2025. The vote was counted as ayes by Kenkel, Parkhurst and Schaben. No nays were cast.

The Auditor has found that all County Compensation Boards have been dissolved by the State legislature, this makes it necessary if the Supervisors choose to establish a compensation Board if they so choose. The duties of a Compensation Board are to recommend wages for elected officials each year.

Schaben then made a motion and Parkhurst seconded the motion to approve the following resolution

## RESOLUTION 2024-29 ESTABLISHING A COUNTY COMPENSATION BOARD

A resolution by Shelby County to establish a county compensation board as authorized by Iowa Code Section 331.905. Whereas, pursuant to Iowa Code Section 331.905, as amended in 2024 by Senate File 2442, the county board of supervisors may vote to establish a county compensation board. Whereas, pursuant to this same Code Section, when the board of supervisors establishes a county compensation board, the compensation board shall be comprised of seven members who are residents of the county. Two members shall be appointed by the board of supervisors, one member each by the county auditor, county attorney, county recorder, county treasurer, and county sheriff. The members of the county compensation board shall not be officers or employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state and shall serve staggered terms. Whereas lots were drawn to determine the duration of initial staggered terms for members of the county compensation board. Now, therefore be it resolved; Shelby County hereby establishes a county compensation board for the county. Be it further resolved; Shelby County directs each of the elected officials to submit their respective appointments to the board of supervisors by August 1st, 2024. Be it further resolved, the representatives of Sheriff, Auditor, and Supervisors (2 representatives) shall serve an initial term of four years and the representatives of Treasurer, Recorder and County Attorney shall serve an initial term of two years. Be it further resolved; this resolution shall apply retroactively to July 1, 2024. Hereby resolved by the Board of Supervisors for Shelby County on this 2nd day of July 2024. A vote was tallied with Ayes by Parkhurst, Schaben and Kenkel, no nays were cast.

Auditor Maxwell, then asked the Supervisors for authorization to sign the counties private Auditors, the yearly Audit Scope and objectives of the annual audit letter. Schaben made a motion to allow the signature, Parkhurst seconded the motion, the motion passed.

The meeting was then adjourned.

Mark Maxwell Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

Steve Kenkel, Chairman